Huskies' standouts honored at awards night

Story and photos by Richard W. Dionne, Jr. 
Posted 3/27/23

Mt. Hope standouts: Brock Pacheco, Jessica Deal, Elsa White, Thea Jackson and Abby Razzino were among Mt. Hope High School student athletes that were honored during the school’s annual Fall …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Register to post events

If you'd like to post an event to our calendar, you can create a free account by clicking here.

Note that free accounts do not have access to our subscriber-only content.

Day pass subscribers

Are you a day pass subscriber who needs to log in? Click here to continue.

Huskies' standouts honored at awards night


Mt. Hope standouts: Brock Pacheco, Jessica Deal, Elsa White, Thea Jackson and Abby Razzino were among Mt. Hope High School student athletes that were honored during the school’s annual Fall Sports Awards night on Wednesday, 3/15. 


Brock Pacheco

Pacheco, a senior, received the Silver Dozen award from the Rhode Island Chapter of the National Football Foundation, an award given to individuals who exemplify outstanding academic performance, superior football performance and exemplary school leadership and citizenship. He also named the Providence Gridiron Club’s Offensive MVP and was named first team All-Division in Division III-B and an all scholar athlete. 

During the fall football season Pacheco became Mt. Hope’s most prolific running back. The senior shattered the single season rushing record, rushing for 1444 yards on 194 carries and also broke the Huskies’ touchdown record, scoring 17 touchdowns.

“Brock is our best ever running back at Mt. Hope,” declared head coach Thomas DelSanto, Jr. after the annual Thanksgiving Day game. “He has worked so hard this season. He’s a great kid and I’m very happy for him and proud of him.”

“It’s just crazy to me,” Pacheco said, after the game. “Having a great year like this, I’m just thankful for the season. Thankful for Riley, Rocco and my O-line, I love them.” 

Pacheco and his family made a difficult decision last offseason as he worked hard to come back from an ACL injury to his knee that occurred in 2021. 

“I wasn’t sure in the beginning of the season that I was even going to play,” Pacheco said. “My dad was worried that I was going to get injured again. But I kept putting in a lot of work. Lifting and catching up. I was behind the curve. But I kept working and I’m just thankful for this season, really.” 


Jessica Deal

Cross country runner Jessica Deal was named All-State and first team All Division. The freshman became a running phenom for the Huskies cross country team this season. Deal won the freshman state championship at Smithfield’s Deerfield Park. She also placed second in the state class championship. She regularly placed first for the Huskies during regular season meets. Deal placed 18th at the Nike Northeast Regional Cross Country Championship in Wattipager, New York. 

“For a first year athlete, Jess has stepped into the roll with ease,” said Huskies cross country head coach Susan Rancourt. “She led the pack from the first practice and had an incredibly successful season. She is a quiet competitor who knows her own strengths and how to best use them as an asset in a race situation.  As a teammate, Jess is supportive and positive which in turn provides such a healthy and fun atmosphere across the team.  We have such a great group right now and I am excited to see what the next few years bring.”

Over the Winter, Deal and her teammates became freshman indoor track champions. Deal, a distance runner, won two individual state championships during the meet and placed second in another. The tall soft-spoken Deal ran an unprecedented four distance races in three hours and scored 28 points for the Huskies.


Elsa White 

Tennis first singles player Elsa White was named All State and All Division and was awarded Huskies MVP at awards night. The junior compiled a 10-2 record during the regular season and never got to finish her only playoff match. 

“In my tenure as coach, I think Elsa is hands down the best player to come through the program,” said head coach Geoff Keegan. “She’s extremely coachable, smart in her decision making, and very humble. Much deserving of the MVP award for our team this season and is truly the definition of a MVP.”


Thea Jackson and Abby Razzino 

“Both Abby and Thea are a coaches dream,” said head coach Kerri Giarrusso.  “They are extremely competitive,  passionate, and hardworking. They worked exceptionally well together. Both are well deserving of first team All State. They are two of the best players in RI and in Division I.”


More Awards



James Thibaudeau, a junior, was awarded the Providence Gridiron Club’s Defensive MVP. He was also named All-Scholar and named second team All Division. 

Thibaudeau, a linebacker, compiled 114 tackles for the Huskies football team this season. He also snagged two interceptions and made a sack. As an offensive running back, he rushed for over 100 yards. 

Ben Colouro and Colin Maloney were named second team All Division. Riley Howland and Ben Martel were named third team All Division. 

Nick Malafronte, Rocco Ferolito, Ethan Martel, Colin Maloney, Andrew Rhynard, JJ Pimental, Benjamin Martel, Robert Annis, Preston Brodd, Brennan Perry and Evan Rodrigues were all named All Scholar for football. 



Mia Shaw a junior outside hitter for the volleyball team, was named first team All-Division for Division II. 

Freshman Sarah Wilcox was named to the fourth team All-Division team. 

Cross Country 

Owen Schneck was named the third team All Division and George Piper was named All Academic. 

Reyn Ferris and Lucy O’Brien were named to the third team All Division squad. 

Sonia Bradley, Reyn Ferris and Claudia Green were named All Academic and Lily DaSiveira won the RI coaches award. 



Cloey Dias and Grace Greenslade was named first team All Division, Scarlett Drawbridge was named second team All Division, Alice Sullivan won the perseverance award, Emma Serbst and Shivani Mehta were named to the All Academic team. 

Justin Mendes was named first team All Division and Griffin Berardo was named first team All Academic. 




2024 by East Bay Media Group

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff

Mike Rego has worked at East Bay Newspapers since 2001, helping the company launch The Westport Shorelines. He soon after became a Sports Editor, spending the next 10-plus years in that role before taking over as editor of The East Providence Post in February of 2012. To contact Mike about The Post or to submit information, suggest story ideas or photo opportunities, etc. in East Providence, email